Keep abreast with everything interesting

Records of Border–Gavaskar Trophy (India vs Australia)

Cricket matches between India & Australia have always been of very high intensity, irrespective of the form of the game. Since past two decades, India-Australia matches have created more enthusiasm than the India-Pakistan matches. Indians termed the 2012-13 season of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as “The Revenge” of the previous season. Australia had whitewashed India in the 2011-12 season, winning the 4-match series. This year, India whitewashed Australia 4-0, recording the best win by the Indian team over Australia.

India wins Border Gavaskar Trophy 2013

India wins Border Gavaskar Trophy 2013

What is Border-Gavaskar Trophy??

Border-Gavaskar Trophy is a Test Match Series played between India and Australia since 1996. The name Border-Gavaskar Trophy was framed in respect of the two most famous cricketers of India & Australia- Sunil Gavaskar & Allan Border. Both of these were great batsmen of their times. Sunil Gavaskar (aka Sunny) held the record of highest Test centuries (34) for almost 2 decades which was broken by Sachin Tendulkar in 2005. On the other hand, Allan Border held the record of highest Test runs (11,174) which was broken in 2005 by Brian Lara.

Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar pose with trophy

Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar

Records of Border–Gavaskar Trophy:

1996-97India1India (1-0)
1997-98India3India (2-1)
1999-2000Australia3Australia (3-0)
2000-01India3India (2-1)
2003-04Australia4Draw (1-1)
2004-05India4Australia (2-1)
2007-08Australia4Australia (2-1)
2008-09India4India (2-0)
2010-11India2India (2-0)
2011-12Australia4Australia (4-0)
2012-13India4India (4-0)

Total Series Played: 11

            India Won- 6

            Australia Won- 4

            Draw- 1

Total Matches Played: 36

            India Won- 16

            Australia Won- 14

            Draw- 6

Highest Innings Total: India- 705/7 (Sydney 2003-04)

Innings total > 600: 6


            Australia- 2

Lowest Total: Australia- 93 (Mumbai 2004-05)

Highest Win: India- by an Innings & 219 runs (Kolkata 1997-98)

Closest Wins:

  1. By Runs: India- by 13 runs (Mumbai 2004-05)
  2. By Wickets: India- by 1 wicket (Mohali 2010-11)



Highest Run-scorer: Sachin Tendulkar- 3262 runs (34 matches)

Most Matches: Sachin Tendulkar- 34

Most 100s: Sachin Tendulkar- 9

Most 50s: Sachin Tendulkar- 16

Most 6s: Sachin Tendulkar- 25

Most 4s: Sachin Tendulkar- 391

Most 0s: Ajit Agarkar- 8

Highest Score: Michael Clarke- 329* (Sydney 2011-12)

Most Runs in a series: Ricky Ponting- 706 (4 matches in 2003-04)

Best Average (minimum 10 matches): Mathew Hayden- 59.00 (18 matches)

Best Strike-rate (minimum 10 matches): Adam Gilchrist- 76.9 (18 matches)

Highest Partnership: Ponting & Clarke- 386 (for 4th wicket in 2011-12)


Most Dismissals in a Series: Adam Gilchrist- 25 (4 matches)

Most Dismissals: Adam Gilchrist- 75 (18 matches)

Most Catchers: Adam Gilchrist- 73 (18 matches)

Most Stumpings: MS Dhoni- 14 (17 matches)


Highest Wickets: Anil Kumble- 111 (20 matches)

Most Overs: Anil Kumble- 1086 (20 matches)

Most Wickets in an Innings: Harbhajan Singh- 8/84 (41.5 overs)

Most Wickets in Match: Harbhajan Singh- 15/217 (80.1 overs)

Most Wickets in Series: Harbhajan Singh- 32 (3 matches in 2000-01)

Most 5w in an Innings: Anil Kumble- 10 (20 matches)

Most 10w in an Innings: Harbhajan Singh- 3 (18 matches)

Best Average (minimum 10 matches): Glen McGrath- 18.64 (11 matches)

Best Economy-rate (minimum 10 matches): Glen McGrath- 2.23 (11 matches)


Most Man of the Series: Sachin Tendulkar- 3

Most Catches: Rahul Dravid- 46 (32 matches)

Most Catches in a Series: Rahul Dravid- 13 (4 matches in 2004-05)

MS-Dhoni-lifts Border-Gavaskar-Trophy-2013


2012-13 Border-Gavaskar Trophy:

Series Result: India 4-0 Australia

Toss Result: India 0-4 Australia

Highest Total in an Innings: India- 572

Most Runs in the Series: Murali Vijay- 430 (4 matches)

Most Runs in an Innings: MS Dhoni- 224 (265 balls at Chennai)

Most 100s: Murali Vijay- 2 (4 matches)

Most 50s: Pujara, Warner, Henriques, Siddle- 2

Most wickets in the Series: R Ashwin- 29

Most wickets in a match: R Ashwin- 12/198

Most wickets in an Innings: R Ashwin- 7/103

Most 5w in an Innings: R Ashwin- 4

Most Catches: MS Dhoni- 9


Highest score by a wicket-keeper: MS Dhoni- 224

Fastest century on a Test debut: Shikhar Dhawan- 187 (100 from 85 balls)



Fake News: Border-Gavaskar Trophy to be renamed as Sunny-Lyon Trophy

Why is Sachin called The God of Cricket??

Tips for Cricketing Shots


Stats Courtesy: espncricinfo

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitesh Sonigra

Connect with me on Google+

Latest posts by Mitesh Sonigra (see all)


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply